The Neal Bradley Show, Monday, July 24, 2017

Monday was Ohio Valley Conference Football Media Day in Nashville. Murray State was picked to finish 8th, while Jacksonville State was picked to repeat as champions. The Racers did place two players on pre-season all OVC teams. Neal spoke with Racer head football coach Mitch Stewart during the proceedings.

For the fourth-straight year and sixth time in the past eight years, Jacksonville State has been picked the preseason football favorite in the Ohio Valley Conference. The Gamecocks, who have won three-straight OVC Championships and 24-straight Conference games, received 16 of a possible 18 first-place votes in a poll of league head coaches and sports information directors.  The Gamecocks totaled 128 total points to out-distance UT Martin, who picked up the other two first-place votes and was tabbed second (107 points). Tennessee State was picked third (96) and followed by Eastern Illinois (81), who was the last league team to beat Jacksonville State (at the end of the 2013 season). Eastern Kentucky was picked fifth (68) and followed by Tennessee Tech(64), Southeast Missouri (42), Murray State (41) and Austin Peay (21).

2017 Preseason OVC Football Team

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Patrick Smith (WR), Tennessee State

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Darius Jackson (DL), Jacksonville State


QB – Troy Cook, UT Martin

RB – Roc Thomas, Jacksonville State

RB – Jaimiee Bowe, UT Martin

RB – Yeedee Thaenrat, Tennessee Tech

WR – Patrick Smith, Tennessee State

WR – Jordon Gandy, Murray State

TE – Addison Bounds, Eastern Illinois

C – Thomas Burton, Tennessee State

OG – Justin Lea, Jacksonville State

OG – Robert Burleigh, UT Martin

OT – Dylan Cline, Jacksonville State

OT – Kadarren Bond, UT Martin


DL – Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State

DL – Ebenezer Ogundeko, Tennessee State

DL – Aaron Patrick, Eastern Kentucky

DL – Randy Robinson, Jacksonville State

LB – Siran Neal, Jacksonville State

LB – Joel McCandless, Jacksonville State

LB – Chad Meredith, Southeast Missouri

DB – Marlon Bridges, Jacksonville State

DB – Kahlid Hagens, UT Martin

DB – Reggie Hall, Jacksonville State

DB – D’Montre Wade, Murray State

DB – Tae Martin, UT Martin


K – Lane Clark, Tennessee State

P – Keith Wrzuszczak, Eastern Kentucky

RS – Cameron Sanders, Southeast Missouri

RS – Chris Rowland, Tennessee State